28.3 C
Tuesday, June 18, 2024

African Growth Financial institution President Wins Obafemi Awolowo Management Prize

Must read

The award which promotes the legacy and democratic beliefs of the late Nigerian nationalist and federalist chief Chief Obafemi Awolowo, additionally “recognises and celebrates excellence in management.”

The Basis’s Government Director, Ambassador Dr Tokunbo Awolowo-Dosumu stated, “Dr Adesina was the unanimous selection of the Basis’s Choice Committee, which described Adesina as possessing the attributes for the award to the very best diploma.”

In response to Ambassador Awolowo-Dosunmu, “The attributes thought of to have characterised Chief Awolowo’s wonderful management, embody integrity, credibility, self-discipline, braveness, selflessness, accountability, tenacity of goal, visionary and people-centred management.”

The previous Nigerian President, Goodluck Ebele Jonathan was one among a number of world leaders who nominated Adesina. “He epitomises and combines qualities of extraordinary management which can be typically uncommon to seek out: nice visionary, unbelievable braveness, the flexibility to tackle enormous and tough challenges, extraordinary dedication and dedication to ship programmes and insurance policies that rework the lives of tens of millions of individuals,” Jonathan stated.

Former British Prime Minister Tony Blair additionally praised Adesina’s management. “His contributions to the African continent and world management have been distinctive. Beneath his management the African Growth Financial institution has delivered daring interventions to deal with among the best challenges of our time,” he stated.

One other globally famend determine, Ambassador Kenneth Quinn, President Emeritus of the World Meals Prize Basis, saluted Adesina’s dedication to meals safety: “President Adesina has traversed the African continent evangelising his profound imaginative and prescient to finish childhood stunting via enhanced vitamin; uplifting smallholder farmers, the good majority of them girls; offering vital financing for a broad array of infrastructure initiatives so vital to growth and modernisation.”

Former UN Secretary-Basic Ban Ki-moon and World Heart on Adaptation CEO Prof. Dr Patrick Verkooijen, collectively stated, “We will consider no individual extra extremely certified or deserving of this prestigious award. Dr Adesina is solid in the identical mould as Chief Obafemi Awolowo, a shining instance of management.”

Dr Akinwumi Adesina is the third recipient of the Award. Others embody Nigerian author and Nobel Laureate Wole Soyinka and the previous South African President Thabo Mbeki.

An award ceremony is scheduled for six March 2024, and can embody keynote lecture by the honouree.

The Obafemi Awolowo Basis, based in 1992, is a non-profit non-partisan organisation.


- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article